NEW RELEASE: Deadly Lies by Chris Collett

Discover a new detective in a tough city. DI Tom Mariner thinks he’s seen it all, but now he faces an investigation which will push him to the limit.

AMAZON UK LINK
https://www.amazon.co.uk/DEADLY-gripping-detective-mystery-twists-ebook/dp/B075XT8Y4D/

AMAZON USA LINK
https://www.amazon.com/DEADLY-gripping-detective-mystery-twists-ebook/dp/B075XT8Y4D/

AUSTRALIA LINK
https://www.amazon.com.au/DEADLY-gripping-detective-mystery-twists-ebook/dp/B075XT8Y4D/

'Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.’ Yorkshire Post

Journalist Eddie Barham is found dead in his home. A syringe is in his arm and a note by his side reads, ‘No More.’

Open and shut case of suicide? Not for DI Mariner. Hours before, he saw Barham picking up a woman in a bar. And then Mariner discovers Barham's younger brother, Jamie, hiding in a cupboard under the stairs.

Jamie is the only witness to his brother's death, but his severe autism makes communication almost impossible. Mariner is determined to connect with Jamie and get to the truth. Is the journalist’s death related to his investigation of a local crime kingpin? 

What other dark secrets does Jamie hold the key to and can Mariner keep his relationship professional with Barham’s attractive sister, Anna?

In a nail-biting conclusion, Mariner races against time to prevent more lives being lost.

Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. 

This is the first book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!

What readers are saying about DEADLY LIES
“I liked it a lot, one of the better books I read this year.” Hannelore Cheney

“5 STARS. What a wonderful book.” Ron

“This is a complex plot which gripped me when I started reading.” Olga

5 Stars – A Gripping Read. “ Barbara

“A very well written and gripping book.” Viv

“A clever plot, excellent characters and that “je ne sais quoi” that keeps you turning the pages. ” Nicki

THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry

But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.

Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.

THE DETECTIVES
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.

Police Constable Tony Knox has recently transferred to the West Midlands force and finds himself back in uniform following an undisclosed transgression. A scouser with the gift of the gab, and an irrepressible ladies’ man, Knox is initially wary of the inscrutable DI Mariner, but, when a need arises, is grateful for his unquestioning support and the lack of curiosity about his personal life.

THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “A WORM IN THE BUD.”

9781912106776.jpg